Women of the Word

Women of the Word (WOW) is a monthly gathering of ladies who are currently doing a topical study on Fruits of the Spirit. So far this Spring, WOW has discussed contentment, beauty, and hope. On Friday the 6th of May, we will be discussing joy

WOW meets in downtown Helsinki from 6-8pm, typically on the first Friday of the month, to discuss material shared in advance. Materials for this Friday can be found below.

You are welcome to join whether or not you’ve had time to look at the study materials, and you are warmly welcome either in person or online, but please sign up via this link or speak to Miriam for address details &/or the zoom link (just so we know whether we need to book a larger space!). 

Joy

Scripture passages of note: 

|| Psalm 30:5  ||  Psalm 43:4  ||  Philippians 4:4  ||  Nehemiah 8:9-11  ||  

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

FOR INDEPENDENT STUDY

1. Defining joy:

Read this article titled “Discerning Between Joy and Happiness” by R.C.Sproul (1-2 mins): https://www.ligonier.org/posts/discerning-between-joy-and-happiness

Read this article titled “Confusing Pleasure and Joy” (3-5mins) https://www.ligonier.org/learn/articles/confusing-pleasure-and-joy

Read this article titled “The Key to Joy” (4-6 mins) https://www.ligonier.org/learn/articles/key-christians-joy

2. Living out our joy:

Read this article titled “The Christian and Joy” (6-8 mins) https://www.ligonier.org/posts/christian-and-joy

Read this article titled “Joy and Strength” (2-4 mins) https://www.ligonier.org/learn/devotionals/joy-and-strength

Read this article titled “How Do I ‘Count It All Joy’?” (4-6mins) https://www.ligonier.org/learn/articles/how-do-i-count-it-all-joy

 

GOING DEEPER (OPTIONAL STUDY)

Read the article “The Fullness of Joy” (5-7 mins) https://www.ligonier.org/learn/articles/fullness-joy

Listen to a 5-part audio teaching series by R.C.Sproul – each part is 20-25 minutes long: https://www.ligonier.org/learn/series/joy

Listen to Steven Lawson’s introduction to a teaching series on Philippians titled “Rejoice in the Lord: Paul’s Letter to the Philippians” https://www.ligonier.org/learn/series/rejoice-in-the-lord-pauls-letter-to-the-philippians/a-letter-of-joy

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Hope

Scripture passages of note: 

1 Corinthian 15; 1 Peter 1; Hebrews 11:1; Hebrews 6:19; Romans 8:24-25; Romans 5:2-5; Romans 12:12; Titus 3:7; Lamentations 3:24; Psalm 71:14; Psalm 130:5, Colossians 1:4-5

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

FOR INDEPENDENT STUDY

1.a) Read “Hope-Shaped Living”: https://www.ligonier.org/learn/devotionals/hope-shaped-living

1.b) Read “A Sure Hope for the Future”: https://www.ligonier.org/learn/articles/sure-hope

2. Read “What is Hope?”: https://www.desiringgod.org/messages/what-is-hope

3. Read “Secularism and Our Current Hope” https://www.ligonier.org/learn/articles/secularism-and-our-christian-hope

GOING DEEPER (OPTIONAL STUDY)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Beauty
A framework for our discussion will be the five main points below:
 
1. the beauty of God, and God as the source of all beauty
2. the beauty of the original Eden
3. the beauty of the Gospel
4. how do we faithfully reflect God’s beauty (made in his image; art; the beauty of unseen things – godly character, other fruits of the spirit, etc., dangers of idolising beauty)
5. the beauty of the restored Eden – the fully realised Kingdom of God which awaits us
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

FOR INDEPENDENT STUDY

1. Listen to “The Beauty of God Displayed” here: https://www.ligonier.org/podcasts/ultimately-with-rc-sproul/the-beauty-of-god-displayed. (3-4 minutes)

2.a) Read “Triune God: Good, Beautiful and True ” here: https://www.ligonier.org/learn/articles/triune-god-good-beautiful-and-true (5-7 minutes)

2.b) Read “Beauty and the Gospel” here: https://www.ligonier.org/learn/articles/beauty-gospel (5-7 minutes)

2.c) Read “Supernatural Beauty” here: https://www.ligonier.org/learn/articles/supernatural-beauty (5-7 minutes)

2.d) Read “Using Our Beauty” here: https://www.ligonier.org/learn/devotionals/using-our-beauty (3-5 minutes)

3. Watch / listen to “Given for Beauty” here: https://www.ligonier.org/learn/conferences/creation-re-creation-2013-fall-conference/given-beauty (45 minutes)

GOING DEEPER (OPTIONAL STUDY)

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *